ARC Review: The Iron Traitor by Julie Kagawa

The Iron Traitor by Julie Kagawa

The Iron Traitor by Julie Kagawa
Series: The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten #2 (full reading order below)
Publication Date: October 29th 2013
Purchase: Ebook | Paperback
Source: I received an ARC from the publisher (Harlequin Teen) in exchange for an honest review

In the real world, when you vanish into thin air for a week, people tend to notice. 

After his unexpected journey into the lands of the fey, Ethan Chase just wants to get back to normal. Well, as “normal” as you can be when you see faeries every day of your life. Suddenly the former loner with the bad reputation has someone to try for-his girlfriend, Kenzie. Never mind that he’s forbidden to see her again.

But when your name is Ethan Chase and your sister is one of the most powerful faeries in the Nevernever, “normal” simply isn’t to be. For Ethan’s nephew, Keirran, is missing, and may be on the verge of doing something unthinkable in the name of saving his own love. Something that will fracture the human and faery worlds forever, and give rise to the dangerous fey known as the Forgotten. As Ethan’s and Keirran’s fates entwine and Keirran slips further into darkness, Ethan’s next choice may decide the fate of them all.

Um, wow. I… did not see that ending coming at all. Like, holy crapola, that has got to be the biggest freaking cliffhanger of ALL TIME. God, Julie Kagawa, what are you doing to me?!?

Ahem, well, aside from that ridiculous cliffhanger, I am SO happy with The Iron Traitor. This spinoff series has really stepped up its game. The first book I was only slightly disappointed with, but it was still good, because hello, it’s Julie Kagawa! And besides, it’s hard to measure up to the epic badass-ness that is the original Iron Fey series (If you haven’t read it, GO READ IT). But The Iron Traitor ended up being better than I expected! Ethan was alright in the first book, but in this sequel, he’s certainly wormed his way into my heart. He’s become so endearing, with his snarky wit, his need to be the heroic savior, and just his basic teenage boy-ness that I want more of him! I’m now very much invested in this spinoff series and am dying for more books in the series!

Ethan has grown throughout the series. At first, he completely hates the Fey, because they’ve done nothing but cause trouble to him. But now, after becoming more involved in their world, and meeting other Fey, he can’t exactly hate all Fey. Because like it or not, he’s related to them. His older sister is the queen of the Iron Court, and he has a nephew (who is the same age as Ethan–freaky, right) who he’s become friends with. Keirran is a huge part of Ethan’s transformation. Both their fates are entwined, and not necessarily for the better. It was all very worrisome, to be honest, and I kept feeling like something terrible was going to happen. And oh my god, it did. It was like, BAM, it comes out of nowhere, and I’m just reeling, shocked. If you’re going to read The Iron Traitor (which you should!) be ready for some serious plot twists.

Keirran is a difficult character to like. Throughout the entire book, he’s searching for a way to save the faery girl he loves from Fading–or basically, dying. And while he’s searching, he embraces the darkness more and more. It was really hard to see him as Meghan and Ash’s son, you know? It was just… weird. Like, oh my gosh, MEGHAN and ASH have a SON, and he’s turning slightly BAD?!? He’s got a good heart underneath, but desperate times call for desperate measures… and I got very frustrated with him. Because he’s the main reason why Ethan and Kenzie and everyone are getting into so much trouble and are risking their lives over it. And I just didn’t like that. I wanted to give Keirran a big shake so he’d come back to his senses, but I guess that wouldn’t make for a good plot, would it.

Oh my gosh. The BEST BEST BEST part of the book was… wait for it… PUCK!!!! YES! PUCK. IS. BACK! You have NO IDEA how much I love this Summer faery. I adore him. Him and his antics and his comic relief. I’d missed this trickster so much. And Ash too. I’m not sure I should say this because I’ll sound crazy, but basically, every time Ash appeared in the book, I would start fangirling like crazy. Seriously, I love him. I’d just be squealing with joy for every ten second appearance he’d make. I’d just missed him so much! *sighs* Ash is the. best. I missed these two enough that I basically reread the entire Iron Fey series while I was reading The Iron Traitor. I’m such a crazy huge fan of the series.

And of course, a certain cait sith is there to help all their sorry asses traipse through the Nevernever so they can fight epic battles against the Fey ;)

ARGH! That ending! I want to know what happens in the next book so bad! Julie Kagawa, I hate love you so much for making me so agonized over the end!

4.5 hearts! Almost close to perfect.

4.5-hearts

lacey

Reading Order: The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten series

The Lost Prince by Julie Kagawa The Iron Traitor by Julie Kagawa

#1 ~ The Lost Prince | Ebook | Paperback | Goodreads
#2 ~ The Iron Traitor | Ebook | Paperback | Goodreads

4 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Iron Traitor by Julie Kagawa

  1. Great review! I’m reading The Lost Prince now and absolutely loving it! So excited to start this one, I really want to know what’s the deal with Kierran!
    I freaking love every Julie Kagawa book, her writing is just too amazing!
    Also, I am totally with you on Puck. I have always been Team Puck, he’s so great. I’m happy to hear he’s sticking around!

We Love Comments!

